Interview: Dale and his Pack


I understand You’ve adopted two dogs from a rescue site.. why did you choose to rescue instead of purchase a new pet?

Dale:  Well I chose to rescue because there are so many animals that are in need of help. Lets get the ones out there in the streets into loving homes. 

Gus and Ellie are your adopted companion pets. Gus was definitely a stray, and after being around him, its clear he was a runaway or abandoned, and that he has certain behaviors that he learned from other people. Can you tell us a little bit about that? the challenges AND the rewards?

Dale:  Yes, they are companions and I’m grateful for them. I rely on them as they do me. When Gus was found he had heart worms and had to be put on medicine.

How was he found? 

Dale:  He actually walked up to the other dogs at the peoples house who fostered him….  He walked up so he could say hi to the other dogs.  They got him better because of the other dogs they had as well.

Any thing about his behavior that was unusual?

Dale:  His behaviors are pretty much normal as any other dogs behaviors. If you raise your hand too fast he flinches. If I light a cigarette with a match and I’m not near him, he flinches.

Crossing your legs is hard to do around him because he will  push against your foot and move around …. so he can be scratched. Other dogs?  he loves them in open environments, but walking leashed on the street the same time other people are walking their dogs… he is difficult.

And  Cats ?

Dale: Well sometimes he’s good around them but not always. To answer your earlier question, I guess I would say the challenge keeps me on my toes. Thats the rewarding part… keeps my mind on the task and alert.

I know that he was your second rescue adoption and that Ellie, in fact, was your first. So while you adopted Gus as an adult, You first adopted Ellie as a puppy a year before. What Challenges did Ellie, as a puppy, bring to you as a pet owner.

Dale: The challenges Ellie brought where very small, She was the piddle queen haha. When you came in from being out and would let her out of her cage she was so excited that she just let go…. and little pee spots would be around you as she was jumping and making happy noises.

It was funny actually.

The more difficult part was EVERYTHING made her excited.

So if we were in bed  and played with her sometimes she just would let some drops out.

The house training was easy, though.  We crated her for a while and now she’s house broken.

At first she had some seperation issues but now she seems to be doing better with Gus around.  She needs lessons in manners and a few other things but she’s a great dog

LOL… she has more energy than a nuclear reactor. She’s definitely and active girl!  You have been open with people in your life about the fact that you have an anxiety disorder, that has been an obstacle in your life at times. How has adopting Gus and Ellie helped you with that?

DaleThey make me have to deal with it.

They know when something is wrong and they do their best to try and comfort me. I do my best to let them help me relax and they do. 

People love them and they love people so I end up interacting  with other bipeds myself, which in the long run is better for me. 

Well in closing I want to thank you for volunteering for Katey’s Keep, advising on urban outreach and rescue outreach. I will give you the last word. Can you give us the name of the rescue site that you got your pups from, so that others can know they are a caring quality rescue organisation?

Dale: Sure. Here’s the address of their facebook page

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Cold-Nose-Coalition/176349659048575

Have a story YOU want to share?  E-Mail us at kateyskeep@gmail.com and we can talk!

Leave a Reply

